LEARN ABOUT FBC

About God

God is the Creator and Ruler of the universe. He has eternally existed as three persons: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. These three are co-equal and are one God.

About Jesus Christ

Jesus Christ is the Son of God. He is co-equal with the Father & Holy Spirit. Jesus was born of a virgin and lived a sinless human life and offered Himself as the perfect sacrifice for the sins of all people by dying on a cross. He arose from the dead after three days to demonstrate His power over sin and death. He ascended to Heaven’s glory and will return again someday to earth to reign as King of Kings and Lord of Lords.

About The Holy Spirit

The Holy Spirit is co-equal with the Father and Jesus. He is present in the world to make men aware of their need for Jesus Christ. He also lives in every Christian from the moment of salvation. He provides the Christian with power for living, understanding of spiritual truth, and guidance in doing what is right. He gives every believer a spiritual gift when they are saved. As Christians, we seek to live under His control daily and believe that the Spirit of God is working to make our character more like Christ’s.

About The Bible

We believe that God has chosen to specifically reveal Himself through the Bible. The Bible is God’s Word to us. It was written by human authors, under the supernatural guidance of the Holy Spirit. It is the supreme source of truth for Christian beliefs and living. Because it is inspired by God, it is the truth without any mixture of error.

About Human Beings

People are made in the spiritual image of God, to be like Him in character. People are the supreme object of God’s creation. Although every person has tremendous potential for good, all of us are marred by an attitude of disobedience toward God called “sin”. This attitude separates people from God and causes many problems in life.

About Marriage and Family

Covenant marriage is the uniting of one man and one woman in commitment for a lifetime. It is God's unique gift to reveal the union between Christ and His church, and to provide for the man and the woman in marriage the framework for intimate companionship, the channel for sexual expression according to biblical standards, and the ideal means for procreation and nurture of children. We believe that Ephesians 5:21-33 is the normative expression of Christian marriage. Sexual activity is to be enjoyed exclusively between a man and a woman that have been joined together in covenant marriage. All other sexual activity is a violation of biblical standards.

About Salvation

Salvation is God’s free gift to us but we must accept it. We can never make up for our sin by self-improvement or good works. Only by trusting in Jesus Christ as God’s offer of forgiveness can anyone be saved from sin’s penalty. When we turn from our self-ruled life and turn to Jesus in faith we are saved. Eternal life begins the moment one receives Jesus Christ into his life by faith.

About Eternal Security

Because God gives us eternal life through Jesus Christ, the true believer is secure in that salvation for eternity. If you have been genuinely saved, you cannot “lose” it. Salvation is maintained by the grace and power of God, not by the self-effort of the Christian. It is the grace and keeping power of God that gives us this security.

About Eternity

People were created to exist forever. We will either exist eternally separated from God by sin, or eternally with God through forgiveness and salvation. To be eternally separated from God is Hell. To be eternally in union with Him is eternal life. Heaven and Hell are real places of eternal existence.

BIBLICAL AUTHORITY

Believing that God has revealed the truth about Himself and the world through the Bible.

FAMILY

Making our homes and the next generation a priority.

OPTIMISTIC ACCEPTANCE

Inviting people to become all that they were created to be without judging their past.

SERVANTHOOD

Believing every member is a minister and gifted by God to meet the needs of others.

INTENTIONALITY

Doing what we are doing on purpose.

COMMUNITY

Depending on others and developing life-long friendships.

JOY & LAUGHTER

Enjoying life and every good and perfect gift that God has given.

HONESTY

Living transparent lives marked by authenticity.

PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY

Encouraging people to grow at their own pace without man-made guilt or pressure.

CREATIVITY

Encouraging innovation, imagination, and initiative in all areas of ministry.

FAITH-FILLED LIVING

Stepping out by faith and risking failure in order to follow God wherever He leads.

OUR STAFF

  Dr. Brent Gentzel | Senior Pastor | bgentzel@fbckaufman.org

 

Dr. Brent Gentzel | Senior Pastor | bgentzel@fbckaufman.org

  Abraham Garcia | Pastor of Hispanic Ministries | agarcia@fbckaufman.org

 

Abraham Garcia | Pastor of Hispanic Ministries | agarcia@fbckaufman.org

 
  Lydia Dungan | Student/Discipleship Assistant | ldungan@fbckaufman.org

 

Lydia Dungan | Student/Discipleship Assistant | ldungan@fbckaufman.org

  Stacey Edwards | Children's Ministry Assistant | sedwards@fbckaufman.org

 

Stacey Edwards | Children's Ministry Assistant | sedwards@fbckaufman.org

  Kaye Hill | Preschool Director | khill@fbckaufman.org

 

Kaye Hill | Preschool Director | khill@fbckaufman.org

 
  Wes Hill | Minister of Church Site Development | whill@fbckaufman.org

 

Wes Hill | Minister of Church Site Development | whill@fbckaufman.org

  Leah Jackson | Children's Pastor | ljackson@fbckaufman.org

 

Leah Jackson | Children's Pastor | ljackson@fbckaufman.org

  David James | Preteen Ministries | djames@fbckaufman.org

 

David James | Preteen Ministries | djames@fbckaufman.org

 
  Kay James | Worship Arts & Ministry | kjames@fbckaufman.org

 

Kay James | Worship Arts & Ministry | kjames@fbckaufman.org

  Yohel Martinez | Hispanic Worship Pastor | ymartinez@fbckaufman.org

 

Yohel Martinez | Hispanic Worship Pastor | ymartinez@fbckaufman.org

  Billy Middlebrooks | Facilities | bmiddlebrooks@fbckaufman.org

 

Billy Middlebrooks | Facilities | bmiddlebrooks@fbckaufman.org

 
  Kay Miller | Prayer & Pastoral Care | kmiller@fbckaufman.org

 

Kay Miller | Prayer & Pastoral Care | kmiller@fbckaufman.org

  Jimmy Polk | Worship Leader | jpolk@fbckaufman.org

 

Jimmy Polk | Worship Leader | jpolk@fbckaufman.org

  Bobby Rich | Pastor of Senior Adults | brich3863@aol.com

 

Bobby Rich | Pastor of Senior Adults | brich3863@aol.com

 
  Karen Smitherman | Finance Secretary | ksmitherman@fbckaufman.org

 

Karen Smitherman | Finance Secretary | ksmitherman@fbckaufman.org

  Jason Thurston | Discipleship | jthurston@fbckaufman.org

 

Jason Thurston | Discipleship | jthurston@fbckaufman.org